Salvaging Photos | Editing in RAW

Most images I post online go through a lot of post-processing, as I’m in the process of teaching myself Photoshop skills, and love making my work more dynamic and finding ways to improve it.

I often take many photos that look rather dull or have washed out colours, just because of rubbish natural lighting. This is a post focusing on one image that I salvaged recently – don’t discard those seemingly bad photos! They can be saved! 😛

Tip number one – if you’re able to, shoot in RAW. Everything photo I take is recorded in RAW and JPEG – I use the latter as a backup, but I love RAW images for all of the freedom you have with it. These file types are uncompressed, so while they do take up a lot of storage – it means you can manipulate them in lots of ways, whereas options are limited with JPEG photos.

2016-09-10

Above is the original image, open in my RAW editing panel in Photoshop. It looks so bland – it’s just something I casually shot on a street in London whilst walking. But I wanted to fiddle around with it and see if I could revive it.

2016-09-10-1

For this image, I only worked on the basic stuff – the sliders you see on the right. Above is the image with a couple of adjustments. I emphasised the shadows and the black tones, to give the image some more texture, but it was still missing something.

2016-09-10-2

Contrast!! This is a slider I usually avoid using because I’m much too scared that it’ll look like I’m over-editing. However, I think the increasing contrast is what really made this photo – it’s made the colours so much more vibrant and eye catching.

2016-09-10-42016-09-10-3

Here’s a side by side comparison, of the image detail before and after! I’m really happy with how this image turned out. It’s nothing special, composition-wise, but it was great to practice my editing on.

I might do some more Photoshop insights in the future, I like making these posts! What would you like to see me do?

img_1777

CAMERA: canon eos 100d

DATE: 10/9/2016

LOCATION: london / edited at home obvs

Leave a Reply

